//
you're reading...
Weblog

+ Music: Let’s talk a little bit about Miles Davis

The Definition of Art…


Have you ever spent all the time you need to take a good look at any artwork by Pablo Picasso or Kandinsky?
Well for example, the ‘Dora Maar au Chat‘ (1941), or ‘Le s Demoiselles d’Avignon’ (1907), or ‘Three Musicians’ (1921) by Picasso, or any work by Kandinsky. The special thing about those artworks is not Expressionism in which I can name many other expressionists.
To me it’s the “style”. The “Style” shows the ideology, the definition and ‘all you need to know’ of an artist. And I suppose art means “style”. You never need to look at the name of a great artist or his signature to recognize his work.
And with this point of view, Miles Davis was inspired. He said: “For me, music and life are all about style”. So this ideology became the first thing that made me very much in the agreement with Miles.

But why do I like Miles Davis so much?

I think I understand every note he played and somehow I can feel a better connection with him. In other words, Miles Davis was one of the guys who influenced me the most in Music just like what Picasso and Kandinsky did to me in the realm of Visual Art.
You can see Picasso and Kandinsky when you listen to Miles Davis. And in all Picasso’s paintings, you can hear Miles Davis’ tunes. His music is inspired from different art forms with a lot of identities, attitudes, and sentiments.
I don’t admire Miles because of his fame and all his numerous Grammy Awards and his compositions. What I like about him is his ideology in terms of art always pushed him to be creative, to find a balance just like in any work by Picasso or Kandinsky.
They always found the balance in the imbalance. Miles always found the melody in an anti-melody. When he plays an anti-melody, you can hear a melody in it. When Miles had to play against the orchestra, he played over… A melody against another melody. That is the biggest creative work that you find in Miles’ music. And in that he was truly the best.
Miles had too much to contribute the music world throughout his entire life. And amongst all those contributions, I think he was truly great in these realms: Bebop Jazz, quintets, the ‘Kind of Blue’ album,the adaption of electric instruments, Jazz funk and Jazz rock.

The ideological value…

Miles died in 1991 but not just his music, his ideas are also still very important now.
When the mass media was eating people’s minds with pop music, pop culture, stupid stereotypes and repeated ideas, Miles always had his group to share different musical ideas and to play what they wanted. I think most of us are losing out styles and our independent ideas because of the media. When are we going to have more jam sessions again? When will the pop music stop fucking up our minds? When are we gonna think and create by ourselves?

Quotes:

“Don’t play what’s there, play what’s not there.” – Miles Davis

“It’s always been a gift with me, hearing music the way I do. I don’t know where it comes from, it’s just there and I don’t question it.” – Miles Davis

“I know what I’ve done for music, but don’t call me a legend. Just call me Miles Davis.” – Miles Davis

“I’m always thinking about creating. My future starts when I wake up every morning . . . Every day I find something creative to do with my life.” – Miles Davis

“I’ll play it first and tell you what it is later.” – Miles Davis

Miles’ Visual Artworks:


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

